Welcome to the Supreme Court of Kenya

The Court is established under Article 163 of the Constitution consisting of the Chief Justice, who is the President of the Court; the Deputy Chief Justice, who is the Deputy President of the Court; and five other Justices of the Supreme Court. The Supreme Court jurisdiction is set out under Articles 58(5), 163(3), (4), (5) &(6), 168(8) of the Constitution and Sections 12, 13, 15, 29 and 40 of the Supreme Court Act No. 7 of 2011 Laws of Kenya.

Historical Background

The establishment of the Supreme Court of Kenya, which is today the highest court in the land, can be traced to the controversial Presidential election in 2007.
Read More
Read more

Mandate of the Court

The Court derives its mandate from the Constitution of Kenya, 2010. The Constitution confers upon the Court powers to exercises diverse jurisdictions as follows:
Read More
Read More

Supreme Court Act, 2011

The object of this Act is to make further provision with respect to the operation of the Supreme Court as a court of final judicial authority to, among other things
Read More

Supreme Court Practice Directions, 2020

The Court (General) Practice Directions set out in the Schedule hereto, are to be observed by and binding upon parties to the proceedings.

Supreme Court Rules

These Rules apply to proceedings under the Court’s jurisdiction and includes petitions, references and applications.
Read More